That’s how I roll.

Yeah, less than 24 hours after posting about my Blogger blog on Livejournal, I went and migrated to WordPress.  I’d hate me too, folks, especially if you were actually following me on Blogger.

More after the jump.

Not much to talk about on the Tigers front today.  They got shellacked by the Yankees 12-3 in A.J. Burnett’s spring debut.  Nate Robertson, I hear tell, did not look sharp, and Dontrelle, well, Dontrelle gave up two runs on three hits in two innings, along with two walks and two strikeouts.  Nothing too special there.

Umm, apparently the Tigers’ pitching staff issued TEN walks.  Count ’em, TEN WALKS.  Four of them by Nate Robertson.  I suppose you could try and put a positive spin on it, and tell yourself that Nate was just being generous, but . . . yeah.  Not working.

By the by, non-roster invitee Scott Williamson took the brunt of the Yankees beating, boasting an especially putrid line of SIX runs and FOUR walks on TWO hits in TWO THIRDS OF AN INNING.  That’s Dontrelle-of-2008-worthy, right there.

If you’re looking for some positives to glean from this game, know this: Fernando Rodney shut the Yankees down in his one inning of work with zeroes across the board, along with three Ks.  Way to be studly, Fernando.  It’s the power of the alligator tooth, y’all.

The Tigers’ offense was pathetic, mustering only three runs on four hits, but Jeff Larish got two of those hits, and Will Rhymes hit the Tigers’ only homerun of the game.  Those two accounted for .666 (oooh, evil) of the Tigers’ hits today; Maxim St. Pierre accounted for the other one.

Okay, I think that’s enough on that game.

2 thoughts on “That’s how I roll.

  1. Is this Maxim St. Pierre French Canadian? Because you know I collect them … :-D

    Dontrelle gave up two runs on three hits in two innings, along with two walks and two strikeouts. Nothing too special there.

    Okay, I’ll go there: What’cha talkin’ ’bout, Willis? :-P Nothing special? 2 strikeouts in two innings! That is a 9.0 K/9! When was the last time he approached anything that high? ???

    Seriously, he’s not using the high leg kick anymore, is he? I’m kinda skeptical that kind of change in mechanics at this juncture will help, but let’s say it does and while he adjusts to it, these are the results he’s going to get?

    • Is this Maxim St. Pierre French Canadian? Because you know I collect them … :-D

      Why, yes he is! Add him to your menagerie! ;D

      Okay, I’ll go there: What’cha talkin’ ’bout, Willis? :-P Nothing special? 2 strikeouts in two innings! That is a 9.0 K/9! When was the last time he approached anything that high? ???

      Ha, uhh, I don’t know, maybe 2003? The K/BB rate isn’t too hot though :P At least it’s a pretty small sample size and a lot of hot air on my part. Ha ha.

      Seriously, he’s not using the high leg kick anymore, is he? I’m kinda skeptical that kind of change in mechanics at this juncture will help, but let’s say it does and while he adjusts to it, these are the results he’s going to get?

      He was all out of whack last year as far as his mechanics go. He had already started to get away from the reeeally extreme high leg kick of old. It’s still fairly high compared to the leg kicks of other pitchers, but it seems more . . . controlled from the few pictures and clips I’ve seen so far. I won’t be able to say anything definitive until I see him in action. As far as I can tell, he’s making small steps forward with the occasional step backwards.

      Steve Phillips, however, has picked the D-Train as his Comeback Player of the Year. I hope he’s right. :P

Leave a Reply

